Well, I have some extra time now with Christmas vacation approaching, so I'll try to post a blog every few days for everyone.
Brett Favre is a Pro Bowler. Unreal. There is no way you can justify this award this year unless you doing it as a Lifetime Achievement Award. He should have been beaten out by Chad Pennington for sure and probably Matt Cassel as well. Of course I'm bitter about the whole thing as Favre screwed the Packers in my opinion. This entire season has been rough, and one of the issues has to be the circus that was Green Bay for about 2 months this past summer. I know Rodgers has made some poor decsions in the 2 minute drill, but I'm really glad he's our guy. The franchise is set up with a really good QB for years to come, and we're not in a funk like the post-era Broncos with Elway or Dolphins with Marino.
I'll debate anyone on this, but letting go of Brett Favre was the right move. They're going to get a high draft pick and hopefully sign some free agents and they'll be BACK next year. Ted Thompson better not sit on the that big ass pool of money he has to sign players. Get out there and get busy. Dream scenario would be Albert Haynseworth and Jason Taylor.
Saturday, December 20, 2008
Thursday, December 4, 2008
Busy Times at the Bullis House!
With basketball starting once again this year and with the new addition to our family, I haven't had much time to blog unfortunately. Also, there just haven't been that many things that have interested me to blog about. I'll be trying to get on here on a more regular basis soon to get the discussion rolling once again on sports.
A few things of interest are, who's going to win the Heisman? My pick is the favorite, Sam Bradford. Although Tim Tebow has been lights out the last month or so.
College basketball is in full swing and I couldn't be happier! My beloved Tarheels of North Carolina are absolutely LOADED. They've already won the Maui Classic quite easily, and took the Spartans of Michigan State behind the woodshed last night in the ACC/Big Ten Challenge. Not really much of a challenge as the ACC has now won 10 straight! At least, the Badgers held up their end of the bargain in a very entertaining win Monday night over Virginia Tech on the road. Bucky isn't flashy once again, but I'm sure they will make plenty of noise by the time March rolls around. I really like their freshman, and Keaton Nankivial of Madison Memorial is in the starting line up, which is great to see.
The Packers, well, it hasn't been a great season. However, the play of Aaron Rodgers has been promising, and he's going to be good for a long time. I may not agree with Ted Thompson on everything, but he's got himself a stud in Rodgers. I'm just glad we don't have to do what some teams do and shuffle the QB spot for years after a legend to find the successor to the throne. The defense is not great. The whole reason is due to the D-Line and getting absolutely no pressure on the QB. All in all, the NFC North sucks and will be knocked out early in the playoffs. With the sub-par season, I'm already looking forward to the April draft. We make an entire weekend out of the draft in Madison. It's quite a good time.
All in all, I'll make more of an effort to get on here and share my thoughts. Please share yours with me as well. Let me know what's on your mind. But until next time............. Who's Your Matty?
A few things of interest are, who's going to win the Heisman? My pick is the favorite, Sam Bradford. Although Tim Tebow has been lights out the last month or so.
College basketball is in full swing and I couldn't be happier! My beloved Tarheels of North Carolina are absolutely LOADED. They've already won the Maui Classic quite easily, and took the Spartans of Michigan State behind the woodshed last night in the ACC/Big Ten Challenge. Not really much of a challenge as the ACC has now won 10 straight! At least, the Badgers held up their end of the bargain in a very entertaining win Monday night over Virginia Tech on the road. Bucky isn't flashy once again, but I'm sure they will make plenty of noise by the time March rolls around. I really like their freshman, and Keaton Nankivial of Madison Memorial is in the starting line up, which is great to see.
The Packers, well, it hasn't been a great season. However, the play of Aaron Rodgers has been promising, and he's going to be good for a long time. I may not agree with Ted Thompson on everything, but he's got himself a stud in Rodgers. I'm just glad we don't have to do what some teams do and shuffle the QB spot for years after a legend to find the successor to the throne. The defense is not great. The whole reason is due to the D-Line and getting absolutely no pressure on the QB. All in all, the NFC North sucks and will be knocked out early in the playoffs. With the sub-par season, I'm already looking forward to the April draft. We make an entire weekend out of the draft in Madison. It's quite a good time.
All in all, I'll make more of an effort to get on here and share my thoughts. Please share yours with me as well. Let me know what's on your mind. But until next time............. Who's Your Matty?
Saturday, November 8, 2008
Brewers get Macha and Randolph
I guess Willie Randolph did know something when he turned down the Washington Nationals a few weeks back. Maybe he thought he still had a chance to land the skipper's job in Milwaukee. Well he didn't get that, but the Brewers did hire him to be the bench coach for manager Ken Macha. I think this is a great hire to get them both! However, they are still going to have to make up for the losses of Sabathia and Sheets provided neither re-sign. I don't think the Brewers 5 year $100 million to CC is going to lure him back. They need to be on the aggressive and go out and get some pitching to help Gallardo, Parra, Bush and Suppan. Cappy should be coming back as well, but you never know what you're going to get coming off that surgery.
On a side note, it appears the Cubs are in the running to get Jake Peavy. If that happens, it's lights out for the NL Central as with Zambrano, Harden and Peavy as the top 3, they'd be tough!!!
On a side note, it appears the Cubs are in the running to get Jake Peavy. If that happens, it's lights out for the NL Central as with Zambrano, Harden and Peavy as the top 3, they'd be tough!!!
Thursday, October 30, 2008
Macha To Be New Skipper
According to two sources on ESPN.COM, Ken Macha will be named later today as the new Brewers manager. Not my first choice (Brenly), but Macha is a solid guy. He won multiple AL West Division Titles while in Oakland. I'll give the guy a chance. He needs to bring discipline, and new hitting coach! Anything is better than Yost, so this is a plus in my mind. Like Sveum, think he's a good guy, but they couldn't hire him as they needed someone from the outside coming in to rewrite the ship.
1st Rounder to Play?
Former 1st round draft pick Justin Harrell is as healthy as he's been in the past year and is set to be activated from the PUP list sometime soon. It may even be for the upcoming week vs. the Titans.
Some people have already labeled him a bust. I'm not willing to go there yet. I think that before you can be a bust, you have to be healthy and play. He quite frankly hasn't played enough. He did play sparingly last year and recorded 16 tackles. I think if he can stay healthy, and stay in that D-Line rotation, this could be a solid addition for the Packers defense. Obviously stopping the run has been an issue thus far, and getting a 6'4" 310 lb. speciman like Harrell has to help. He's got a huge upside, but has to prove he can stay healthy and give the Packers some solid play.
Some people have already labeled him a bust. I'm not willing to go there yet. I think that before you can be a bust, you have to be healthy and play. He quite frankly hasn't played enough. He did play sparingly last year and recorded 16 tackles. I think if he can stay healthy, and stay in that D-Line rotation, this could be a solid addition for the Packers defense. Obviously stopping the run has been an issue thus far, and getting a 6'4" 310 lb. speciman like Harrell has to help. He's got a huge upside, but has to prove he can stay healthy and give the Packers some solid play.
Monday, October 27, 2008
Brett Gets Booed
The Jets fans seem to be getting restless with the ol' gunslinger. On Sunday, he was booed on numberous occasions after some horrible passes that were picked by the Chiefs. One was returned for a touchdown. The lowly Chiefs D was picking Brett all day! Favre now leads the NFL in interceptions. Wierd!!
Friday, October 24, 2008
Off to the Hospital
I know it's all sports on here, but I thought I'd let you all know, we're heading in to the hospital this morning as Kristine is going to get induced. The whole process begins around 8:00. I'll keep you posted and try to post some pictures later tonight when I come home. So wierd thinking Braeden is going to be a big brother soon. Talk to you soon!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
